Chord Progressions


Chord Progressions

Groups of certain chords in the diatonic triad series are known as progressions.

The chords in the diatonic series are labeled as such:

Diatonic Chord Series
Scale Position Number Chord
Root I Major triad
Second II Minor triad
Third III Minor triad
Fourth IV Major triad
Fifth V Major triad
Sixth VI Minor triad
Seventh VII Diminished triad

Each chord in a progression does not have to be played the same amount of time, nor do they all need to be in the same octave. Use progressions as a starting point for your own creativity.

Common Chord Progressions

Top Home