Diatonic Triads (Harmonized Triads)


Diatonic Triads

Diatonic triads are constructed by using each note of a major scale as the root note of a chord consisting of notes from the same scale we get. The resulting set of chords are known as diatonic chords.

Diatonic triads follow the same pattern starting from the root note of the scale: Major, Minor, Minor, Major, Major, Minor, and Diminished.

The notes of a C major scale are C-D-E-F-G-A-B. Start on the first note and skip every other note, until there are three notes, to create the triad chords.

  • C major chord is C-E-G
  • D minor chord is D-F-A
  • E minor chord is E-G-B
  • F major chord is F-A-C
  • G major chord is G-B-D
  • A minor chord is A-C-E
  • B diminished chord is B-D-F

Therefore, the harmonized triad chords over C major are: C major, D minor, E minor, F major, G major, A minor, B diminished. This series of major and minor chords with ending diminished chord is the same for all major scales.

Triads Harmonized Over a Major Scale

  • Root - Major chord
  • Second - Minor Triad
  • Third - Minor Triad
  • Fourth - Major Triad
  • Fifth - Major Triad
  • Sixth - Minor Triad
  • Seventh - Diminished Triad

Top Home