Introduction to Scales

Scales are the foundation of music theory. Chords, chord progressions, harmony, melody, and keys are all based on scales.

Scales are constructed by counting a specific number of half-steps from one note to the next until the octave of the first note is reached. The note the scale starts on is called the root note of the scale. From the root note, follow the half-step formula for the particular scale you wish to construct. There is a half-step formula for each type of scale (major, minor, pentatonic, etc.) When constructing a scale from the half-step formula remember to always raise the pitch of the next note by the number of half-steps in the formula.

List of Scales

  • Pentatonic Major
  • Pentatonic Minor
  • Blues
  • Major
  • Modes
    • Ionian
    • Dorian
    • Phrygian
    • Lydian
    • Mixolydian
    • Aeolian
    • Locrian
  • Melodic Minor
  • Harmonic Minor
  • Whole-tone
  • Diminished
  • Chromatic
  • Augmented
  • Gypsy Minor
  • Augmented Gypsy Minor
  • Exotic Scales
    • Algerian
    • Albanian
    • Balinese
    • Chinese
    • Composite
    • Egyptian
    • Enigmatic
    • Hinduston
    • Hirojoshi
    • Hungarian
    • Japanese
    • Kumoi
    • Neopolitan Major
    • Neopolitan Minor
    • Oriental
    • Pelog
    • Persian
    • Raga Hanumat Todi
    • Symetrical

Top Home